prog metal dream theater jazz

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 onyxite

onyxite
  • 34 posts

Posted April 16, 2016 - 02:27 AM

Hello there!

My name is Mike, I go by Onyxite, and I've been charting mostly prog & metal RB customs for a few years. I did a large amount of drums charts for someguy913 and his Twitch chat back when he streamed RB drums regularly, including a good third or so of Dream Theater's discography, and ever since the C3 community database launched I've started back up doing full band charts.

I have a... particular charting style for drums and the other pro instruments -- I strongly believe Rock Band transcriptions should be as motion-accurate as possible, closely emulating the movement and feeling of the original instrument parts. This means I break from "Harmonix style" in some areas: for example, I generally don't put open hihat drum gems on a different pad from closed ones, I almost always chart ghost notes even if they are not audible in the full mix, and I'm not afraid to put drum gems on unorthodox pads to better map to the original drummer's kit layout. But, I also believe Rock Band should never be artificially harder than the real instruments -- if an instrument feature is missing in-game, better to make it too easy than too hard.

I greatly admire and strive to emulate other authors who follow a style a similar to this, including (but not limited to!) Grinnz, mazegeek999, TheLieInKing, Confury, Bloodline, DragonTaser, BearzUnlimited, and CyclopsDragon.